Hamilton @ 225

In the past few years, I’ve become fond on Hamilton.  It’s not far from me.  The city has been through some hard times, but it’s coming back.  There are so many hidden pretty places that most of us don’t know exist.

This past week, I saw that this weekend the city would be celebrating it’s 225th birthday with various events.

img_4422

One of which would be a historical walking tour.  As I mentioned in the first post, I ❤ history.  I convinced my friend to stop with me on the way to the football game on Saturday.

img_4404

We were a little late so we joined while the tour was meeting Lt. Colonel William Drake.  He didn’t like St. Clair, and I believe a county north of here is named after him.

img_4394

While the sky was overcast, it didn’t discourage the musicians.

img_4395

Next, we met Major General Richard Butler, the namesake of the county.  He was killed a few weeks after Ft. Hamilton was created in an attack by the Indians.  He, also, didn’t like Governor St. Clair, mentioning how he had abandoned Ft. Ticonderoga.  I’ve been there, but I remember Benedict Arnold more, so that was an interesting piece to add into the history.

img_4396

Lastly, we met Catherine Miller aka Red Headed Nance.  She is famous for defending herself with a frying pan during the attack that killed Major Butler.  She lost her husband and baby in the battle.  She was a camp follower, which she was quick to point out that most of them were wives with their husbands who cooked and mended, not some other connotation you might have.

img_4398

She wasn’t thrilled to be in the dangerous Indian territory, including Ft. Washington (now Cincinnati).   When they built Ft. Hamilton, she couldn’t help feeling hopeful as she looked out on the river.  Looking out at the river, I couldn’t help but agree it was a pretty view.

img_4399

The tour finished up back at the log cabin by the river where we could sample apple pie and cider.  Yummy!

img_4401

As we walked backed to the car, I couldn’t help notice two more things.

1. The sundial was built in honor of the Grand Army of the Republic from the Civil War.  It was dedicated just a few months before Pearl Harbor, and another long war.

img_4406

2.  The Butler County Memorial to the Fallen Firefighters.  I read in the paper about the two names being added just recently.

img_4407

And that’s what we saw in Hamilton on Saturday morning.

I have several more blogs that I will post.  I’m hoping to get one a week posted.  Please comment with your suggestions about where I should go.  Also, have you visited Hamilton lately?  What did you think?

 

Leave a comment